Faculty Honors

The following faculty have received honors and accolades.

FALL 2021

Eve EwingAssistant Proessor Eve L. Ewing was named a 2021 USA Fellow. This award celebrates artists and cultural practitioners who have significantly contributed to the creative landscape and arts ecosystem of the country.


Angela S. GarciaAssistant Professor Angela S. GarcĂ­a was named a co-winner of the Eastern Sociological Society's 2021 Mirra Komarovsky Book Award for her book, Legal Passing: Navigating Undocumented Life and Local Immigration Law. Her book also won a Distinguished Book Award honorable mention from the American Sociological Association Section on Latina/Latino Sociology.

Julia HenlyProfessor Julia Henly, along with David Alexander of the Illinois Action for Children, has received a grant from the Washington Center for Equitable Growth to study the effects of the pandemic on inequities in subsidized child care with a goal to provide policy suggestions to strengthen the home-based care sector.

Professors Julia Henly and Susan Lambert were named 2022 Fellows by the American Academy of Social Work and Social Welfare.

Zhiying MaAssistant Professor Zhiying Ma was named a 2021 Global Fellow by the Ford Foundation. She is one of 48 emerging leaders from around the world to join the inaugural 24 fellows to build a network of 72 active fellows working to tackle global drivers of inequality.

Reuben Jonathan MillerReuben Jonathan Miller, Assistant Professor, was appointed as a Research Professor by the American Bar Association to their Research Community in the Fall of 2021.

Miller also spoke at a TED Salon on November 17, 2021.


Dodie Norton, Samuel Deutsch Professor Emerita was honored with a Lifetime Achivement Award by the organization, ZERO TO THREE, for influence on the early childhood field and the lives of babies and toddlers worldwide.


William SitesAssociate Professor William Sites's book, Sun Ra's Chicago, was chosen for the 2021 MAAH Stone Book Award Short List.