Crown Family School Faculty Honored with American Educational Research Association Award

By Crown Family School

News Type
Crown Family School News

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) announced the winners of its 2024 awards for excellence in education research. Professor Ming-Te Wang was honored with the 2024 Palmer O. Johnson Memorial Award alongside Juan Del Toro of the University of Minnesota. The recognition is for an exceptional article titled "Police Stops and School Engagement: Examining Cultural Socialization From Parents and Schools as Protective Factors Among African American Adolescents," appearing in AERA Open and several other educational journals.  

Man in tan suit with blue shirt smiling outdoors
Ming-Te Wang, PhD

“We are pleased to present the 2024 awards to this commendable and exemplary group of education scholars and champions,” said Felice J. Levine, AERA Executive Director. “They each have contributed tremendously to education research, across all career stages and fields, that have made and continue to make a difference in the lives of students and educators.” 

Learn more about Wang’s Research here